top of page

What are the five love languages?

Are you and your partner speaking the same language? Do you know what the 5 love languages are?

According to Gary Chapman’s book “The five love languages: the secret to love that lasts” people have different ways to express and receive love.

From his book, there are five primary love languages that we use in order to communicate and express our love. Not only when giving but also how we like to feel loved.

It’s easy to feel like you are not being loved or heard within your relationship but it could be that your partner is expressing their love in a different way to you.

The 5 love languages are:

  1. Quality time

  2. Words of affirmation

  3. Acts of service

  4. Physical touch

  5. Receiving gifts.

Quality time

People with this kind of love language feel they are loved the most when their partner spends time with them. Disregarding other things just to be with them. Consistently going out together, watching movies, travelling and cuddling.

If your partner has this kind of love language, spending time with them, talking to them from time to time, having scheduled dates and being there when they need you is the best thing to do.

Words of affirmation

With this love language, the person loves hearing praises, appreciation and expressing love through spoken words. They feel motivated by these affections especially if it sounds sincere and genuine.

They like hearing you say “I love you”, “I miss you”, “You look great” etc so don’t forget to express how you feel about them.

Acts of service

People with this kind of love language feel loved when their partner does things for them. Like surprising them on their special day, making breakfast in bed or even unloading the dishwasher.

Your partner will really appreciate you with these kinds of acts because they make them feel special.

Physical touch

From its words, this love language requires physical affection including holding hands, hugging, kissing and cuddling. They feel love from your presence and touch.

This not just connecting physically but emotionally as well. Your presence will be a great way to express your love and add genuine love touch.

Receiving gifts

Chapman calls this a “visual symbol of love” where people feel appreciated when their partner gets them gifts. But more than the gift itself, they love how they took their time and made the effort for the gift.

For this kind of love language, you can express it by giving gifts, it may not be expensive but something you know your partner would love. They will definitely treasure everything you give because they understand the love behind it.

Now, what is your love language? Do you recognise the main one? It’s not unusual to have a couple.

And what about your partner? How do they express their love?

It’s so important to understand how you communicate love, and how your partner likes to receive it. These little tweaks can have you feeling more connected and understood.

If you want to know more about The Five Love Languages, check out the website here

bottom of page